Regatta Results

Congratulations to all the sailors who competed in the EYC’s recent regattas!

The Rich Hall Junior Regatta was held on July 19-20.  In the Club 420 class, Roger and Derek Waleffe were first, Delaney Dykman and Margaret Gheorghita were second, and Sam Moegenburg and Jake Brooke were third.  In the Laser Radial class, Will Gheorghita was first, Eric Hoyerman was second, Tommy Papenthien was third, Steven Richter was fourth, and Sydney Richter was fifth.

The Fyr Bal Regatta was held on July 26 in Flying Scots in classic Ephraim southwesterly conditions, shifty and puffy.  Michael Faugust and Jennifer Ikeda Faugust were first, Jay Lott and Brett Lecy were second, and Gordie Roberts and Cain Goettelman were third.

The Ephraim Optimist Regatta was held on July 26 and 27.  Eric Hoyerman was first with seven first place finishes in seven races.  Sophie Tasker was second, Adam Henderson was third, Ingrid Pearson was fourth, and Marshall Maltby was fifth.

The Women’s Regatta was held on the evening of July 31.  Six Flying Scots competed. Nancy Claypool with crew Charlotte Johnson and Carrie Berger were the winners, with six points.  Second were Liz Gheorghita and Jennifer Faugust with 9 points.  Third were Ally Dykman and Erica Heidler with ten points.

The Ephraim Regatta was held in light winds on August 2 and 3.  Twenty-seven Flying Scots competed, making the Ephraim Regatta again one of the largest Flying Scot regattas in the country. Ryan Malmgren and Stacey Rieu were first, and also won the Charlie Sauter Trophy for winning the last race, and the Peder Knutson Trophy for top husband-wife team.  Mike Faugust and wife Jennifer Ikeda Faugust won the Vail Cup for taking first in the first race.  Roger Waleffe took the Sturgis Trophy for top skipper age 18 or under, with crew Ally Dykman and Derek Waleffe.   Rounding out the top five overall were Frank and Marianne Gerry in second, Larry Taggart and Carrie Berger in third, Jay Lott and David Sauter in fourth, and Isak Peterson and Brian Ritter in fifth.

For complete results and scores of each regatta, go to