Ephraim Regatta results, photos, thank-yous / Wednesday junior activity

The 108th consecutive annual Ephraim Regatta was a big success.  Despite light and lumpy sailing conditions, the race committee managed to complete two races on each day.  And everyone, racers and non-racers alike, had fun at Friday’s Regatta Welcome Party and Saturday’s Bratfest!

Ryan Malmgren and crew Stacy Rieu won the Vail Cup (winner of the first race) and the Charlie Sauter Trophy (winner of the last race).  Michael and Jennifer Faugust won the Peder Knudson trophy as the highest placing husband-wife team.  EYC instructor Roger Waleffe won the Sturgis Trophy for the highest placing skipper age 18 or under, with crew Ally Dykman and Derek Waleffe.  The top five boats in the regatta were:

5th – 21 pts. – Woody Heidler and Alden Crowe

4th – 20 pts – Jay Lott and David Sauter

3rd – 17 pts – Frank and Marianne Gerry

2nd – 9 pts – Mike and Jennifer Faugust

1st – 6 pts – Ryan Malmgren and Stacey Rieu

Complete results can be viewed here:  http://www.yachtscoring.com/event_results_cumulative.cfm?eID=824

Some photos by the EYC’s Linda Carey are located here:  http://www.flickr.com/photos/ephraimyachtclub/sets/72157634938040234/

Some on-the-water photos from Sunday, August 4 by Mike Stapleton are located here:


It takes a lot of work by a lot of volunteers to host a good regatta, one which competitors want to come back to year after year.  The EYC couldn’t do it without dozens of helpers, many of whom volunteer year after year:

A big thank you to the following persons:  Breakfast and lunch chairs Duska Pearson and Heather Andersen, and Laura O’Rourke, Karen Brown, Debbie Heidler, and Susie Berg; Regatta Welcome Party chairs Laura O’Rourke and Jeanne Papenthien, and Nancy Treleven, Susie Dykman, Joel Dykman, Jodi Hoyerman, Donna Scattergood, Duska Pearson, Fred and Sue Lewis, Betsy Steele, Elizabeth Pyle, Paul and Nancy Pillat; competitor check-in helpers Marguerite and Anabel Roza; the entire Klein extended family, for hosting the 38th annual Bratfest; Rick Hoyerman for helping visiting competitors launch and recover their boats at the Firehouse Marina; Carol Claypool and Marsella Fults for handling trophies; Tom and Jane Lacy for providing a large, comfortable judge’s boat; Judges Fred Horwitz, Bob Aring, and John Archibald; regatta chairman Jay Lott; Principal Race Officer Don Smith; and race committee members Chris Kicinski, Bjorn Hooper (who also donated the use of his powerboat as the signal boat), Kirsten Hooper, Cheyenne Meyer, John Peterson, Deanna Peterson, Steven Berger, Caroline Berger, Eric Berger, Bruce Gantz (who also donated the use of his powerboat as the pin / leeward mark boat), Joel Dykman, Jack O’Rourke, and Dan Baird; apparel sales chair Susan Reynolds-Smith; and safety / tow boat drivers Chuck Pearson and Adam Moore.

We try to acknowledge everyone who helped, but sometimes we forget.  If you know somebody who has volunteered at the EYC and has not been publicly thanked, contact [email protected]


The WEDNESDAY JUNIOR ACTIVITY on August 7 will be the always-popular dock and field games.  Meet at EYC at 5:30 PM ready to swim and run! Juniors will be divided into teams, and will participate in a series of water games, followed by field games at the Olga Dana Green across the street.  All juniors must have a PFD (life jacket) and water shoes.  A towel and a set of dry clothes are also suggested.  All juniors who have completed first grade are welcome to participate.  Please bring $5 to cover the cost of supplies and prizes.  Pick up at EYC at 7:45 PM.  Dinner will not be provided.  Sign up on the poster at the EYC and give your child’s age so that we can form teams in advance.   All adults are welcome to stay and help out or watch.  Questions? Contact Betsy Steele (920) 854-7191.